Log in
Log in

Rudolph John Barnes Award

At the First PCEA National Convention, May 17, 1975, Dale Gillis, Vice President of G.G. Ray Co. of Charlotte, a large Roofing Company at that time, presented to the Association two handsome trophies as a memorial award in memory of Rudolph John Barnes, Past President of G.G. Ray Company. Mr. Barnes was a strong supporter in the efforts made to make the PCEA a National Association. Since that time, the Rudolph John Barnes Award has been presented annually by National PCEA to recognize exceptional service at the National level by an outstanding individual in the Association. The original selection committee was made up of the National Directors from each chapter and they chose the recipient from members presented to them by their various chapters. This selection committee was later changed as the Association grew to the present Committee that consists of the five most recent active recipients.  The award consists of a large trophy with the recipient's name affixed, and is retained by the recipient for a period of one year, until the next recipient is selected.   A smaller trophy is then presented to the previous recipient as a permanent award.

Lee Edwards named the 2022 - 2023 National Estimator of the Year

This year’s recipient is Lee Edwards. 

Perhaps the most coveted award given by PCEA is the Rudolph John Barnes National Estimator of the Year Award.  This award is given annually to a person that has gone above and beyond on the National Level to contribute to the success of PCEA.  

After careful consideration by the committee, consisting of the 5 most recent Rudy Barnes recipients, one candidate has proven to meet all of the high standards set for receiving this award.  The words of some of this candidate’s associates might best set the background for a listing of their accomplishments in the PCEA.  All these are real, paraphrased a bit, but not made up.  

He started in the construction business early, and was known for repairing a brick stairway at the tender age of 6 years old.  

It is said that no walls of his family home or in the homes of friends and relatives were safe from being knocked out and rebuilt by this nominee.  

He was not very popular with his neighbors, as the air compressors and saws were usually running from 7AM to 1AM every weekend while working on his house.  

When he ran out of his own home projects, he was always ready to step up and help out on repairs or remodels for others in his community who needed a helping hand.  

Overheard once at a National Board meeting, “he bleeds PCEA purple and gold”. 

You will often hear him long before you see him.  Although he is loud, he certainly has the skills, talent, and passion to back up his talk.  

To say he is competitive would be an understatement. 

This gentleman once attended a PCEA Long Term Planning Committee meeting via ZOOM conferencing while standing inside a jobsite dumpster.  That is commitment.  

At his current employer, he expanded his role as the need arose until he found himself wearing every hat in the closet. 

He is a dedicated husband, father, and grandfather.  He is a loyal friend, going above and beyond for those he loves and cares about.

So, now that you know some background on the man, what has he done for PCEA?  Since joining his chapter in 2009, he has served at all levels of Chapter leadership, from board member to Chapter President.  A goal he set for his tenure as President was to bring home the Bill Helms Chapter of the Year award.  In doing so, he took that award to a higher level, and raised the standard for all chapters to follow.  He is consistently involved in supporting his local chapter in all of their functions.  He has been active in local and national PCEA efforts in outreach and mentoring to local students in construction trades and to the Appalachian State University Student Chapter.  

At the National level, this nominee has risen through the executive leadership from Secretary to National President.  He has served with distinction in each of those offices, as well as in the committees where he has been a member or chairperson.  He has represented his chapter in attending a number of National PCEA Conventions.  This gentleman has certainly made his mark on PCEA, and we are a better organization for it.

So with that said, it is my privilege to announce the newest recipient of the Rudy Barnes Estimator of The Year award, a proud 12th Man as a Texas A&M Aggie and representing the Charlotte Chapter, Mr. Lee Edwards.

Past Recipients

Jim CormanyColumbia 2022 
Glenn HesseeColumbia2021
Randall WilliamsCatawba Valley2020
Don Howard At-Large2019
Kim LybrandCharlotte2018
Rob BauerOrlando2017
Matt SolomonColumbia2016
Randall WilliamsCatawba Valley2015
William H. "Bill" BartonColumbia2014
Cebert WhiteHampton Roads2013
Gail ChapmanColumbia2012
Charles S. "Chuck" SaulsOrlando2011
Wesley FerreeTriad2010
Trey Shaw (Posthumously)CSRA2009
Kevin JacksonTriangle2008
Taylor WyantHampton Roads2007
Alva D. Gaskin, Jr.CSRA2006
Chris BettsCharlotte2005
Ron KiserTriad2004
Dennis ChildsColumbia2003
Lynn KeatonPiedmont2002
Mel RosenbaumCharlotte2001
Richard MosbyCentral Virginia2000
Cheryl HoneycuttTriangle1999
Ann HelmsCSRA1998
Eddie CarrollTriad1997
Grover EdwardsCatawba Valley1996
Wally MillsTriangle1995
Don EarlesColumbia1994
Bill ShulerTriad1993
Dick WellsColumbia1992
Tim HarwardTriangle1991
Phil SpanglerPiedmont1990
Lynn NashCatawba Valley1989
Jack SmithPiedmont1988
H.H. "Hub" LylesCharlotte1987
Bill DowneyTriangle1986
S. Ray Currin, Jr.Triad1985
Ted G. WilsonCharlotte1984
R. P. "Stephen" DavisCharlotte1983
Larry ThompsonPiedmont1982
Marshall L. GurleyTriangle1981
G. Keith MiddletonCharlotte1980
Frank "Dusty" CallohanTriangle1979
Dale I. GillisCharlotte1978
W. Aubrey FederalCharlotte1977
Vern W. "Bill" Helms, Jr.Charlotte1976

PCEA - National Headquarters

Please Note: 

Contributions, gifts or payments to the Professional Construction Estimators Association are not tax deductible as charitable contributions.  

However, they may be tax deductible as ordinary and necessary business expense.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software